Idaho Governor Brad Little signed a bill into law on April 2, 2019 that will lower the concealed carry age to 18 within the state. The bill also allows non-prohibited 18-year-olds to carry without a permit.
Proponents say that the law was needed because 18-year-olds could already carry in most of the state, especially in rural areas, but those in urban areas who need to carry concealed within city limits are required to be at least 21.
Due to the mismatch, people aged 18 to 20 who are legally carrying could end up breaking a law by simply crossing a border.
A number of groups are against the new rule, saying this could lead to more people being shot and killed. But those in favor of the law say this is simply a measure to prevent law-abiding citizens who carry from ending up on the wrong side of the law for simply travelling across a county, or when they enter city limits.
Are you in Idaho and looking forward to carrying a firearm with the new law? Aside from these handy tips on gun safety from American Survival Guide, invest and keep yourself as well as others safe by enrolling in a firearms class.
You're signed up for the American Outdoor Guide Boundless newsletter.
We can't wait to send you the latest tips, trends and info. Want more right now?